Williamstown District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Williamstown is Melissa Horne (Australian Labor Party).

Find their details on the Parliament of Victoria website

Region this district is in

This district is in Western Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Williamstown District.

    Williamstown District lost:

    • 15,448 voters to Footscray District (Kingsville and Seddon; most of Yarraville).

    Williamstown District gained:

    • 9,775 voters from Altona District (Altona and Seaholme; part of Altona North).
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 31,273 72.1%
    Liberal 12,118 27.9%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 26,629 69.9%
    Liberal 11,440 30.1%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1859 Unaffiliated
    1859-67 Liberal
    1868-71 Unaffiliated
    1871-91 Liberal
    1891-94 ALP
    1894 Conservative
    1894-97 ALP
    1897-1900 Liberal
    1900 ALP
    1900-04 Liberal
    1904-present ALP