Shepparton District profile

Features of the District

Location:Shepparton District is a regional urban and rural electorate located north of Melbourne.
Area:3,288 square kilometres.
Towns:Ardmona, Barmah, Congupna, Dookie, Katunga, Kialla, Mooroopna, Nathalia, Numurkah, Picola, Shepparton, Strathmerton, Tallygaroopna, Tatura and Toolamba.
Features:The District is a rich agricultural area with orchards, vineyards and dairy farms. Much of the electorate is an important irrigation area served by water from the Main East Goulburn Channel. The rest of the land is used for pasture, fodder crops and cattle and sheep grazing. The District includes the Barmah Forest along the Murray River.
Upper House
Northern Victoria Region