Brighton District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Brighton is James Newbury (Liberal)

Find his contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in Southern Metropolitan Region.

Historical pattern

 Period Party
1856-62 Unaffiliated
1862-71 Liberal
1871-1900 Conservative
1900-02 Conservative Liberal
1902-07 Conservative
1907-08 Fusion
1908-09 Conservative
1909-24 Fusion Liberal/Liberal/National
1924 Liberal
1924-27 National
1927-28 Independent National
1928-37 National/United Australia Party
1937-43 Independent
1943-45 United Australia Party/Liberal
1945 Ministerial Liberal
1945-52 Liberal/Liberal and Country Party
1952-55 Electoral Reform League/Victorian Liberal
1955-present Liberal and Country Party/Liberal