1900-1919: turbulent years

In the first 20 years of the 20th century, Victoria churned through 10 premiers. Among them was the shortest-serving in the state’s history (two weeks). Women got the vote and preferential voting was introduced.


1 November - Sir George Turner (Liberal) elected as Premier. In office for 86 days. First postal vote for the Lower House.


12 February – Alexander Peacock (Liberal) elected. Served as Premier for over a year.


 1 October – William Irvine (Conservative) elected.


1 June – Sir Thomas Bent (Conservative) elected.


Bent elected as part of Fusion (combined Conservatives and Liberals). Fusion breaks up and Bent continues as Conservative Premier.


16 November - Women vote for the first time in Victoria. First Victorian election to use preferential voting for Lower House.

John Murray (Liberal Party) re-elected. Replaced by William Watt in 1912.


After a vote of no-confidence in Watt, the acting Governor appoints George Elmslie (Labor)  as premier. Elmslie became the first Labor premier and the shortest serving Victorian premier (14 days). William Watt was re-installed by Parliament.


26 November – Liberal Government continues with Alexander Peacock


15 November – John Bowser (Economy National)

Replaced by Harry Lawson in March 1918