About this guide


This guide is also about our democracy

Australia has 3 types of government

  • Federal Government
  • State Government
  • Local council.

Your vote helps to decide who is in charge.

Every Australian citizen aged 18 years or older must enrol to vote.

You must vote at every Federal, State and local council election.

If you do not vote you may have to pay a fine.