Box Hill District

Sitting MP

The sitting Member of Parliament (MP) for Box Hill is Paul Hamer (Australian Labor Party)

Find their contact details on the Parliament of Victoria website 

Region this district is in

This district is in the North-Eastern Metropolitan Region.

Facts and figures

  • Key boundary changes

    The 2020-21 redivision of State electoral boundaries made the following changes to Box Hill District.

    Box Hill District lost:

    • 2,253 voters to Hawthorn District (parts of Canterbury and Surrey Hills)
    • 6,514 voters to Kew District (parts of Balwyn, Mont Albert and Surrey Hills)
    • 5,324 voters to Ringwood District (parts of Blackburn, Forest Hill and Nunawading).

    Box Hill District gained:

    • 12,117 voters from Burwood District (Box Hill South; most of Burwood; part of Surrey Hills)
    • 7,371 voters from Forest Hill District (most of Blackburn South; part of Burwood East)
  • Two-party-preferred analysis

    The tables below show two-party-preferred (2PP) results from the 2018 State election, based on the old and new electoral boundaries.

    Actual 2018 State election results by 2PP

    Party Votes %
    ALP 19,892 51.9%
    Liberal 18,414 48.1%

    Estimated 2018 State election results by 2PP with new district boundaries

    Party Votes %
    ALP 22,769 53.1%
    Liberal 20,122 46.9%

    To estimate the 2018 votes on the new boundaries, we have allocated the votes from each voting centre according to where the new boundaries are.

  • Past results
  • Historical pattern
    Year Party
    1945-47 ALP
    1947-52 Liberal/Liberal and Country Party
    1952-55 ALP
    1955-82 Liberal and Country Party/Liberal
    1982-92 ALP
    1992-2018 Liberal
    2018-present ALP